Morgans Hotel Group Internship

Samantha Kaden, soon to be a Junior at Colgate, reflects on her time spent interning this summer at the Mondrian SoHo, part of the Morgans Hotel Group: 

The program kicked off mid-June with an extensive training to acclimate the interns to Morgans’ history, culture, and ideals. I work within the Human Resources department and I have been given a great deal of responsibility within the department, fulfilling many of the typical duties of an HR Coordinator.

 
From interacting with applicants to aiding employees with internal issues, I am learning a great deal about the inner workings and operations of the company, as well as the inter-departmental cooperation that must happen on a daily basis to keep things running smoothly. Human Resources is a crucial pin that holds the hotel together, and I have a newfound appreciation for this field of work.
 
I work for Lourdes Shapiro, the manager of Human Resources, who has been a fabulous mentor to me so far. She is always willing to include me in the daily office activities and provide me with individual responsibilities I can take ownership of. I have been put in charge of four projects, many of which are requested by the corporate office.
 
-Samantha Kaden ’15
Leave a Reply

