Interning at FairWinds Partners

Domain names, squatting, and gTLDs: Interning at FairWinds Partners

Screen shot 2013-10-19 at 5.05.11 PM

This fall, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) will be rolling out hundreds of new gTLDs for organizations that weathered the rigorous application process. This past summer I spent a lot of time thinking about gTLDs or general top-level domains (.edu, .com, .net, .biz, and 21 others). Soon we might be directed to sweaters.gap or amazon.book for our online shopping – cool and relevant stuff!

My internship this past summer at FairWinds Partners introduced me to the world of domain names and the internet industry in general. Up in Saratoga Springs, I had a fantastic experience working at this domain name strategy consulting firm. Of course, like most internships, I went in with extremely limited knowledge. The other two interns and I spent our first week researching this niche market and trying to figure out what services exactly FairWinds provides to its clients.

After familiarizing myself with the company and its services, my day to day activities included researching potential new clients, analyzing domain name portfolios of existing clients (Ben and Jerry’s was a fun one), creating blog posts for the Marketing/Communications department, and assisting the consulting and business development associates with their long and short term projects. Through these tasks I learned more and more about domain names, digital property rights, new aspects of the internet industry, and the clients that FairWinds serves. I was fortunate enough to work in a small office: three interns, a business development associate and one of the founding partners. It was my first “desk job” , but it was by far one of the most valuable experiences and it has me excited for the “real world”! I loved my internship this summer and if any of this sounds interesting, don’t hesitate to contact me to learn more!

-Julia Luscinskas ’14

Leave a Reply

