Categories
Uncategorized

Amanda Milberg Discusses the Forté Foundation College 2 Business Leadership Conference

April 10th, 2015 – Deloitte. 30 Rockefeller Plaza, NYC

This past Friday I attended the Forté Foundation College 2 Business Leadership Conference. After a competitive application process, I along with 80+ women representing 40 schools as well as multiple countries came together at Deloitte’s office in New York to ‘learn by doing’. The conference started with a presentation by Nicole Weber, the Corporate Trainer from Great on the Job. Nicole taught me how to perfect my pitch and take my leadership to the next level by improving my brand. She explained how I can improve my executive presence by having confidence, looking great, sounding great, and sharing my story about what makes me unique. After her remarkable and informative presentation, there was a summer internship panel consisting of three current representatives from Citi, Macquarie Group, and Deutsche Bank. These three women helped me gain a better understand on how to prepare my resume, interview successfully, and the necessary steps to land my dream job in the upcoming future.

The rest of the afternoon was spent doing an online Marketplace Business Simulation. Each group consisted of four women and one mentor from a one of the companies that sponsors Forté Foundation. This stimulation places each team in a virtual business world setting as the managers of start-up company. Each individual was responsible for a given department, I was the head of manufacturing, but the team worked cohesively to execute a business strategy and make the final decisions. The stimulation gave each team the opportunity to experience all aspects of business management. I quickly realized the challenges, benefits, risks, and rewards of a business environment.

The last hour of the conference was a Company and Graduate School Expo which allowed each of the participants to talk to employers and network. Overall, I learned so much in such a short period of time and am so thankful that CWiB introduced me to this opportunity. I spent the entire day talking to aspiring women business leaders and making important connects with big name companies who are interested in having motivated women, like myself, become a part of their team in the future.

Leave a comment