More Tips for Navigating the Internship Search Abroad

tabytha

Hi! My name is Tabytha Ruben, I am a junior, and I study Political Science. This past semester I studied in Scotland at the University of Edinburgh. I had such an incredible semester – from spending time exploring Edinburgh itself to visiting other parts of the country and beyond. While I was focused on making the most of my experience, I also knew it was important to begin thinking ahead after my semester in Edinburgh. While summer seemed so far away, I began the recruitment process for various Summer Analyst Programs prior to my arrival. I’m not going to lie, this was incredibly difficult. The time difference alone, in terms of application deadlines and scheduling interviews, often left me frustrated and discouraged. I cannot tell you how many hours I spent either studying for interviews or getting in contact with alumni who could help me learn more about specific programs. I had to make a lot of sacrifices, but my hard work ultimately paid off. I was able to make the process manageable by budgeting my time efficiently; it was definitely helpful to try to set up interviews as far in advance as possible to plan my schedule accordingly. I think some of the most important takeaways for juggling a semester abroad and navigating the internship search is to maintain a good attitude (if you are starting this far in advance, you are bound to get something!), stay organized, and remember to have fun!

 

 

Leave a Reply

