A Day in the Life at EY with CWiB President Siobhan Deacy

Last summer, Siobhan Deacy interned at Ernst & Young’s Business Advisory Program. As students decide what they’re looking for in a summer internship program, Siobhan provided a ‘day in the life’ at EY to tell us more about her summer experience. Siobhan will be starting a full time position at EY this fall! 

This previous summer I interned in Ernst & Young’s Business Advisory Program in New York City.  It was a fantastic opportunity for me to gain more insight and experience in the Consulting industry and better prepare me for knowing what I would want to do after graduation.  I was in a large group of interns in the NYC program and we were all assigned to different projects.  My project was focused on Regulatory Reporting for a large bank in NYC.  Below is an example of a day in the life of the internship program!

8:30-10:30:  I would typically arrive at the office around 8:30 am, along with the rest of my team (which varied from 5-7 people).  During this time, I would typically catch up on any emails  and then get ready for the daily phone call at 9:30.  This call consisted of members of my EY team coordinating with the members of the bank to discuss progress on our project and what needed to be done today.  I would listen in on these calls, take notes, and ask questions to my team after if I did not understand anything.  As these meetings continued I found myself understanding more and more of the calls and how it pertained to my project and team.

10:30-12:30: After the morning calls finished up, I would begin to work on any other tasks that my team had given me.  For one of these tasks, I was compiling the many deadlines for these reports to be filed for the Federal Reserve.  I made different powerpoint slides to display the timelines, which would be used in meeting with our EY teams.

12:30-1:30: Break for lunch.

1:30-2:30: Meeting with other EY teams at the bank.  There were several other teams from EY that were working on different projects at the same bank. Every couple of weeks there would be a meeting to coordinate between the different groups and see what everyone else was working on.  These meetings were interesting because I was able to talk to the other interns and hear about the projects they were on.  It also allowed me to network with other members of EY and hear about the different types of work that exist.

2:30-3:30: Web based learning tutorials from EY. These are usually online training modules for anything from using programs on your computer to onboarding for the company.

3:30-4:00: Meet with my Women’s Intern Mentor.  Each female intern was assigned a mentor who worked at EY.  Luckily, mine worked right near me, so we were able to connect a few times.  This allowed me to gain more perspective into her experience at the company and different projects.  Something that was really great about the EY program, was the amount of support you receive as an intern.

4:00-6:30: Travel to the EY office for an Intern networking event.  Throughout the summer there were many different Intern events that you could sign up to attend and network with members of the firm and other interns.  These events were great because I did not normally see the other interns, it also gave you more exposure to the firm as a whole.

The internship program at EY was overall a great experience that I would recommend to CWiB members!  Please feel free to email me if you have questions about anything: sdeacy@colgate.edu

 

Leave a Reply

