Categories
Uncategorized

Getting to Know the Fall 2018 CWiB Officers

Hello, ladies! In honor of the start of a new semester, some of the Colgate Women in Business Officers wanted to briefly introduce ourselves.

Anna Rummel, ‘19 (President) 

Where is home? Minneapolis, MN

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Economics major

What did you do this past summer? This past summer I did a merchandising internship at Macy’s in NYC.

Why did you join CWiB? I decided to join CWiB as a first year because I really believed in its mission and wanted to join a network of ambitious women.

Fun fact? I was abroad in Switzerland last semester!

Jenna Walter, ’20 (Chief Financial Officer)

Where is home? McLean, VA

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Economics major and Political Science minor

What did you do this past summer? I was a Financial Analyst at Wells Fargo in their Hospitality Finance Group (within commercial real estate).

Why did you join CWiB? I decided to join CWiB because I had always been interested in business and knew that being led by an amazing group of women wanting to share their experiences and help me as a freshman was the best way to learn about all the various industries!

Fun fact? I am in a dance group on campus!

Ally Shahidi, ‘19 (Chief Marketing Officer)

Where is home? Madison, NJ

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Physics major and Art & Art History minor

What did you do this past summer? I was a Student Researcher at Colgate and Student at The Graduate School of Design.

Why did you join CWiB? I decided to join CWiB because I wanted to learn from the experiences of upperclassmen with interests similar to my own

Fun fact? I love architecture.

Kira Palmer, ‘19 (Chief Communications Officer)

Where is home? Medina, OH

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Psychology (major) & Sociology (minor)

What did you do this past summer? I was a Human Resources Intern at the National Geographic Society.

Why did you join CWiB? I came into Colgate thinking I might want to go into finance but wanted to explore business related careers in general to widen my perspective. Since then I have realized I do not want to enter finance, but have discovered industries and careers I never knew existed.

Fun fact? I was a gymnast for 14 years!

Tracy(Kexin) Xu, ‘19 (Immersion Trip Coordinator)

Where is home? Nanjing, China

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Mathematical Economics and Psychology double major

What did you do this past summer? I was a Wealth Management summer analyst at Jefferies.

Why did you join CWiB? I wanted to learn all about business careers and how to position myself as a strong candidate.

Fun fact? I love learning languages.

Elisabeth Galgano, ‘20 (Immersion Trip Director) 

Where is home? Berkeley Heights, NJ

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Economics Major and Film & Media Studies Minor

What did you do this past summer? I worked as an intern at a small executive search firm.

Why did you join CWiB? I initially joined CWiB because I wanted to explore the different career opportunities within the business world. After attending the first meeting and realizing what CWiB has to offer, and what wonderful women I’d be working with, I knew I had to get more involved in the club!

Fun fact? I have been a dancer for almost 18 years!

Allyssa Ark, ‘21 (Social Media Manager) 

Where is home? Montgomery, NJ

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Computer Science Major

What did you do this past summer? This summer I worked at an orthopaedic center as a financial analyst.

Why did you join CWiB? I decided to participate in CWiB because I was interested in learning more about business and had heard about this club from others.

Fun fact? I love skiing, and have been doing it for 14 years.

Emily Brew, ‘21 (Ambassador)

Where is home? Scarsdale, NY,

Major(s) & Minor(s)? Political Science major, Sociology Minor

What did you do this past summer? This past summer I worked as Athletic Director at my sleepaway camp, Forest Lake, in the Adirondacks.

Why did you join CWiB? I joined CWiB because I was really interested in learning about potential career paths, it affords so many cool opportunities, and I loved being surrounded by women equally as eager to learn.

Fun fact? My high school was also the maroon and white raiders, so I have/ will always be a raider!

Jessica Thienel, ’21 (Ambassador)

Where is home? Oyster Bay Cove, NY

Major(s) & Minor(s): Mathematical Economics

What did you do this past summer? I was an intern at Merrill Lynch this summer.

Why did you join CWiB? I joined CWiB because I have always been very interested in business and I loved being surrounded by an amazing group of women with similar passions and interests.

Fun fact? I love gymnastics and dancing!

As we hope you can tell, we come from various places across the world, have diverse academic and outside interests, and are all passionate about our work with CWiB.  We hope everyone is excited and we hope to see you at our events throughout the semester.

Look for more blog posts to come. If there is a topic you want to see covered, email kpalmer@colgate.edu and we will try to incorporate it into a post!

First years, we are looking to select up to three ambassadors to join the current sophomores. If you are feeling inspired, please apply (more information to come)!

Leave a comment